CASE FILE #165·THE TROLLEY QUESTION·DRAFTING
collecting drafting submitted
The Trolley Question · Case #3

The Trolley Question, Part 3: The Two-Mile Gap

AI Fact Sheet

A MathPolitics Investigation — The Trolley Question, Part 3

Total money traced
$1,043,380,000
San Diego · public-record filings
Report #69 · The Trolley Question (part 3 of 4) · condensed AI fact sheet. Chronological; every claim cited; inferences flagged. Source: full report the-trolley-question-part-3.
Built on public records
Documented fact — traces to a filed public record.
Inference — a reading of the record, not a legal finding.
Scope
$1,043,380,000

The federal and regional decision record that fixed the San Diego Mid-Coast Trolley extension's northern terminus at UC San Diego / University Towne Center (UCSD/UTC) — 1.9 miles short of Pacific Beach (the title rounds this to "two miles") — across 1995–2025. Entities: SANDAG, the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), MTS, and the SANDAG board members who served on the Mid-Coast Corridor Transit Project Working Group. Total project budget ≈ $2.17 billion (YOE) E-23897; the three identifiable funding channels traced here sum to ≈ $1.936 billion$1,043,380,000 federal FFGA grant E-23897 + $537.5M federal TIFIA loan E-23898 + $355M TransNet sales-tax share E-23912 — with the remaining ≈$236M being soft/local contingency not carried on the simplified federal finance sheet (see funding-stack Caveat) E-23912. Separately, a $1.3B gap runs between the TransNet revenue forecast voters saw and the forecast SANDAG staff had internally revised down before the 2004 vote E-23905. Nothing here is alleged to be illegal; the point of the brief is the legal federal-formula machinery that fixed the alignment.

Summary — what happened

The Mid-Coast Trolley extension that opened in November 2021 ends at UCSD/UTC, about 1.9 miles by foot from the nearest beach DB. The standard account credits a 2008–2010 SANDAG Working Group with selecting that terminus after "extensive public outreach" E-23910. The records show the corridor was fixed earlier. The federal environmental process — the 1995 Draft EIS, the 2001 Final EIS, and the 2001 Record of Decision — selected the UCSD/I-5 alignment, after which it existed on federal paper E-23914. The corridor was then named in the November 2, 2004 TransNet sales-tax ballot, whose Expenditure Plan committed $660 million to a "Mid-Coast Transit Guideway... from the Old Town area to the U.C. San Diego / University Towne Center area" — text approved 67% to 33%, 0.3 points above the two-thirds supermajority threshold E-23913. Inferred: because the federal Record of Decision had fixed the corridor by 2001 and the ballot named UCSD/UTC, by the time the Working Group convened no coastal alternative remained for it to choose — a reading of the decision sequence, not a legal finding. E-23913E-23914

The FTA Capital Investment Grants (CIG) cost-effectiveness formula scores annualized capital cost against projected weekday trips E-23901. Inferred: the terminus reflects that formula, which structurally rewards concentrated trip generators (a university, a hospital) over corridors of dispersed ridership — a reading of the formula's incentives applied to the decision record, not a documented agency statement. E-23901 Mid-Coast received an Overall Rating of Medium-High and a cost-per-trip of $9.51 in its FY2016 CIG cohort E-23897E-23902. The Full Funding Grant Agreement signed September 5, 2016 committed $1,043,380,000 in federal funds against a $2,171,200,000 total budget and contractually locked the UCSD/UTC alignment E-23897DB. The FFGA's ridership basis was 24,600 opening-year weekday linked trips E-23897; a figure derived from MTS's reported post-opening data (Mid-Coast ≈ 19% of Blue Line boardings) puts the computed actual near 14,600 E-23903. The FTA has not published the Before-and-After Study that would formally reconcile the two E-23899.

Two disclosure facts run alongside the engineering record. Eleven months before the 2004 vote, SANDAG staff internally revised the TransNet 40-year revenue forecast from the $14.2B on the campaign materials down to $12.9B — a $1.3B reduction not disclosed to the public campaign, reported by Voice of San Diego in 2017 E-23905. And the SANDAG board member elected First Vice Chair in January 2025, Joe LaCava — a civil engineer and decades-long resident of the La Jolla neighborhood nearest the corridor — previously served on the Mid-Coast Working Group, a fact SANDAG confirmed but for which it disclosed no tenure dates E-23891DB.

Timeline

1995 E-23914

Draft Environmental Impact Statement. The FTA-compliant DEIS scopes the Mid-Coast corridor; the UCSD/I-5 terminus is carried forward and a coastal alignment is not.

2001 E-23914

Final EIS and Record of Decision. The federal Record of Decision selects the UCSD corridor. From this point the alignment is fixed on federal paper.

2003 E-23914

Phase 2 postponed. SANDAG postpones Mid-Coast Phase 2 to prioritize the Mission Valley East Trolley — one year before the TransNet vote.

2003–2004 E-23905

The undisclosed forecast revision. Approximately 11 months before the November 2004 vote, SANDAG staff internally revise the TransNet 40-year revenue forecast from the $14.2B figure on the public campaign materials down to $12.9B — a $1.3B reduction that is not published, not attached to the ballot, and not disclosed to the campaign. (Reported by Voice of San Diego in a 2017 records return — see 2017-07-31 entry.)

Prop A (TransNet Extension) approved. San Diego County voters approve the half-cent TransNet sales-tax extension (2008–2048) by 67% to 33% — 0.3 points above the 66.67% supermajority threshold. The attached Expenditure Plan, Section 2 Transit item #6, commits $660 million to a "Mid-Coast Transit Guideway... along the I-5 corridor from the Old Town area to the U.C. San Diego / University Towne Center area". No coastal alternative appears on the ballot.

Inferredbecause the federal ROD had fixed the corridor by 2001 and the ballot named UCSD/UTC, a later Working Group had no remaining authority to route the line to the coast — a reading of the decision sequence, not a legal finding.
2008–2010 DBE-23891

Mid-Coast Corridor Transit Project Working Group. SANDAG convenes the Working Group to advise on the Locally Preferred Alternative (station locations, grade separations) within the federal corridor. Ron Roberts (San Diego County Supervisor, District 4, 1995–2017) chairs it during the 2009–2010 Comparative Evaluation of Alternatives period. Joe LaCava also serves on this Working Group; SANDAG has not disclosed his tenure dates.

2010-07 E-23906

SANDAG Board approves the Locally Preferred Alternative. The Board, chaired by Escondido Mayor Lori Holt Pfeiler, approves the LPA — in substance the extension that opens 11 years later.

2013-06-04 E-23907

LaCava endorses the SANDAG process. As La Jolla Community Planning Association (LJCPA) vice chairman, Joe LaCava tells KPBS Midday Edition that "SANDAG has actually done a very good job on this" and characterizes some community concerns as "parochial."

2015-04-02 E-23909E-23908DB

LaCava elected LJCPA President. The LJCPA elects LaCava president by a 14-0-1 vote (he abstained as outgoing chair); he had served as a trustee since at least March 2008. He holds the LJCPA presidency until his December 10, 2020 swearing-in to the San Diego City Council.

Full Funding Grant Agreement signed. The FTA commits $1,043,380,000 (federal New Starts CIG share) against a $2,171,200,000 total budget; the funding stack also includes a $537.5M federal TIFIA loan and $355M in TransNet funds. The FFGA's Overall Rating is Medium-High and its cost-per-trip is $9.51, mid-cohort in the FY2016 CIG portfolio. The agreement contractually locks the UCSD/UTC alignment; amendments require FTA consent to scope change. The FFGA's ridership basis is 24,600 opening-year weekday linked trips and a 2030 forecast of 31,900.

2017-03-17 E-23904

Cost escalation documented. Voice of San Diego reports Mid-Coast's estimate rose 69% — from $1.24B (2010) to $2.1B (2017) — and frames the cost at roughly $60,000 per projected rider at the FFGA ridership figure.

2017-07-31 E-23905

Voter-deception revision surfaces. Voice of San Diego, via a Public Records Act return SANDAG had not volunteered, reports the undisclosed $14.2B → $12.9B internal forecast revision (the $1.3B gap) made ~11 months before the 2004 vote.

2020-12-10 DB

LaCava sworn to City Council District 1. LaCava ends his LJCPA presidency on being sworn in as the San Diego City Council member for District 1.

2021-11-21 E-23899E-23903

Revenue service begins. The Mid-Coast extension opens, 12 months ahead of the FFGA target, into the 2020–2022 pandemic ridership cohort.

2023 E-23901

GAO CIG accuracy audit. GAO-23-105479 finds FTA capital-cost forecasts reliable (~86% of projects within 10% of FFGA forecast) but ridership forecasts less so (~48% within 20%), and flags that projects opening into the 2020–2022 pandemic cohort "cannot be fairly audited" on ridership.

Post-opening ridership data. MTS reports Blue Line weekday ridership up 73% since the November 2021 opening, with the Mid-Coast segment accounting for ~19% of Blue Line boardings.

Inferredapplied to Blue Line weekday ridership near 77,000, the implied Mid-Coast weekday linked trips are approximately 14,600 — roughly 40–45% below the FFGA's 24,600 projection — and the per-rider cost rises toward ~$100,000; a derived computation from MTS's published share, not a federal audit finding.
2025-01-10 E-23891DB

LaCava elected SANDAG First Vice Chair. SANDAG's leadership press release names Joe LaCava First Vice Chair and notes, without dates, his prior service on the Mid-Coast Corridor Transit Project Working Group and the Shoreline Preservation Working Group.

The federal formula (why the terminus is at UCSD)

The FTA Capital Investment Grants program scores candidate projects against six criteria — Mobility Improvements, Environmental Benefits, Congestion Relief, Economic Development, Land Use, and Cost-Effectiveness (annualized capital cost ÷ projected weekday trips) — into an Overall Rating of Low through High; projects scoring too low do not receive a Full Funding Grant Agreement E-23901. Inferred: the cost-effectiveness criterion structurally favors corridors anchored by a single dense trip generator (UCSD/UTC) over corridors of dispersed coastal ridership (La Jolla, Pacific Beach, Mission Beach) — a reading of the formula's incentives, not a documented agency statement. E-23901

FY2016 CIG cohort — cost-per-trip at FFGA rating:

ProjectCityCost per tripOverall ratingSource
Maryland Purple LineWashington, D.C. suburbs (Maryland)$7.77Medium-HighE-23902
Honolulu HART RailHonolulu$9.39Medium-HighE-23902
Mid-Coast CorridorSan Diego$9.51Medium-HighE-23897E-23902
Denver Eagle P3Denver$11.96Medium-HighE-23902

Mid-Coast sat mid-cohort on cost-per-trip E-23902. A same-cycle peer, Sound Transit's Lynnwood Link (Seattle) — 8.5 miles, also rated Medium-High — projected 50,500 opening-year weekday linked trips, more than twice Mid-Coast's 24,600 on a shorter line E-23900E-23897. Inferred: Mid-Coast received the same Medium-High rating partly because SANDAG's local financial commitment was strong; the formula is more forgiving of cost when the sponsor's funding is secure — a reading of the rating structure, not an FTA finding. E-23897E-23900

The Mid-Coast funding stack (at FFGA, September 2016)

SourceAmountNoteSource
FTA New Starts (CIG / FFGA)$1,043,380,000Federal grant; locks the alignmentE-23897DB
U.S. DOT TIFIA loan$537,500,000Federal loan, repaid from TransNet revenueE-23898E-23912
TransNet half-cent sales tax$355,000,000The 2004 sales-tax shareE-23912
Total project budget (YOE)$2,171,200,000FTA profile headline figureE-23897E-23898

Caveat: the FHWA profile's three-line sum ($355M + $1,043M + $537.5M = $1,935.5M) is ~$236M below the FTA total; the difference is soft/local contingency not carried on the simplified FHWA finance sheet. The headline figures cited are $2.17B total and $1.04B federal grant. E-23897E-23912

Ridership: promised vs. computed

MeasureFFGA projection (opening year)Computed actual (2024)Source
Weekday linked trips24,600~14,600E-23897E-23903
BasisFederal contract ridership case for the $1.04B FFGADerived from MTS-reported 19% Blue Line shareE-23897E-23903
Reconciliation statusOverall rating Medium-HighFTA Before-and-After Study not publishedE-23897E-23899

Inferred: the computed actual is ~40–45% below the FFGA projection, and the per-rider cost rises from the ~$60,000 VOSD framed in 2017 toward ~$100,000 — derived from MTS's published Blue Line share, not a federal audit; the GAO notes pandemic-cohort projects "cannot be fairly audited" on ridership, and Mid-Coast opened in November 2021. E-23903E-23904E-23901

Key players

  • Joe LaCava — San Diego City Council President; SANDAG First Vice Chair (elected January 2025); LJCPA President 2015–2020; civil engineer; resident of the La Jolla neighborhood nearest the corridor. Served on the Mid-Coast Corridor Transit Project Working Group; SANDAG disclosed the service but not the tenure dates. E-23891E-23907E-23908E-23909DB
  • Ron Roberts — San Diego County Supervisor, District 4 (1995–2017, five SANDAG-board terms); chaired the Mid-Coast Working Group during the 2009–2010 Comparative Evaluation of Alternatives period. DB
  • Lori Holt Pfeiler — Escondido Mayor; SANDAG Board Chair who presided over the July 2010 Locally Preferred Alternative approval vote. E-23906
  • SANDAG — regional agency that administers TransNet, convened the Working Group, and is the FFGA counterparty. E-23913DB
  • Federal Transit Administration (FTA) — CIG scoring authority and the $1.04B FFGA counterparty. E-23897DB
  • MTS — operates the Blue Line including the Mid-Coast segment; source of the post-opening 73%-increase and 19%-share figures. E-23903

Caveats

Read this before quoting any figure
  • Characterization, not legal finding. No agency, court, or ethics body has found any of the described conduct improper. The brief documents a decision sequence and a funding stack; it does not allege illegality.
  • The LaCava conflict angle is qualified. The record establishes that LaCava served on the Mid-Coast Working Group E-23891DB and lived near and led the planning association of the nearest coastal neighborhood E-23907E-23908E-23909DB. It does not establish that he influenced the alignment. The keystone DB connection (178707) is recorded with review_flag = tenure_dates_pending_cpra; the service is confirmed, the dates are not, and a CPRA request for the roster and tenure dates is pending. Any causal link between his role and the terminus is unproven.
  • Derived figures are flagged. The ~14,600 computed actual ridership, the ~40–45% shortfall, and the ~$100,000-per-rider figure are computed from MTS's published Blue Line share and total project cost, not from a published FTA audit. The Before-and-After Study that would formally reconcile projected vs. actual ridership has not been published E-23899, and GAO flags pandemic-cohort projects as not fairly auditable on ridership E-23901.
  • The $1.3B "voter-deception" gap is the difference between the published $14.2B campaign forecast and SANDAG staff's internally revised $12.9B, as reported by Voice of San Diego from a records return E-23905. The brief does not claim voters would have decided differently had the revision been disclosed.
  • Records are incomplete. The 2010 Comparative Evaluation of Alternatives Report, the 2009–2010 Board minutes, and the Working Group rosters with tenure dates are not published on SANDAG's current project page E-23910; the brief characterizes the record as incomplete, which is itself a documented observation about what is and is not posted.

Reference key

Report #69 · The Trolley Question (part 3 of 4) · condensed AI fact sheet. Chronological; every claim cited; inferences flagged. Source: full report the-trolley-question-part-3.

Corrections

No corrections logged. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll post the fix here.